Monday, February 6, 2023
HomeEthiopian NewsTPLF downsized Executive Committee members

TPLF downsized Executive Committee members

TPLF removed two executive committee members as it is downsizing the size of the party’s key leadership body from 11 to 9. Former spy chief is still in the committee

Ethiopia - TPLF

October 19,2018

Tigray people’s Liberation Front (TPLF) downsized the number of party executive members from eleven to nine. The party removed Beyene Mekru and Dr. Aklilu Hailemichael from executive committee.

Debretsion Gebremichael (party chairperson), Fetlework Gebregziabheir (Federal government trade and industry minister), Getachew Reda, Asmelash Woldeselassie, Abraham Tekesete, keria Ibrahim, Getachew Assefa( former spy chief), Addisalem Balema and Alem Gebrewahed are retained as executive committee members.

Inclusion of former spy chief Getachew Assefa in the committee rather turned out to be outrageous for many Ethiopians for he is allegedly involved in too many human rights abuse.

It was about three weeks ago that TPLF elected party executives and central committee members during the party’s 13th party congress in Mekelle.

Unclear as to what informed TPLF decision to remove Beyene Mekru and Aklilu Hailemichael from central committee membership.

TPLF was a heavyweight political actor within the ruling coalition, Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF), before it was relegated to ordinary player following formation of a contending alliance in the course of power struggle from within which emerged victorious – consequently leading to the advent of Abiy Ahmed as a reformer prime minister.

Join the conversation. Like borkena on Facebook and get Ethiopian News updates regularly. As well, you may get Ethiopia News by following us on twitter @zborkena



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here