Friday, December 2, 2022
HomeEthiopian NewsMuferiat Kamil elected to lead South Ethiopian Peoples Democratic Movement

Muferiat Kamil elected to lead South Ethiopian Peoples Democratic Movement

Muferiat Kamil _ SEPDM
Muferiat Kamil (M), chairwomen of SEPDM.
Photo source : FBC

October 2,2018

The 10th congress of South Ethiopian Peoples Democratic Movement (SEPDM), one of the four-member parties within the ruling coalition, elected Muferiat Kamil as chairwomen of the movement. Muferiat has been serving as speaker of the Federal parliament soon since Abadula Gemeda was made to retire after years of service. She is the only female leader of a political party in the country currently.

Million Matheos is elected as vice-chairman. He is also serving as president of Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples’ Region.

SEPDM has elected 15 executive members to lead the movement for the next three years.

According to a report by Fana Broadcasting Corporate (FBC), the list of executive committee members is as follows:

1. Muferiat Kamil
2. Million Matheos
3. Moges Balcha
4. Getahun Garedew (Dr.)
5. Tesfaye Beljige
6. Meles Alemu
7. Kifle Gebremariam
8. Tilahun Kebede
9. Abraham Marshallow
10. Hailemariam Tesfaye
11.Elias Shikur
12. Zeinu Jemal
13. Anteneh Fekadu
14, Dessie Dalke
15, Erigego Tesfaye

The first nine will be representing the party as within the executive committee of the ruling coalition, EPRDF. The organization has also elected 65 members to serve as central committee for the next three years.

Starting tomorrow, Hawassa, where the 10th congress of SEPDM took place, will host the congress of the ruling coalition.

Join the conversation. Like borkena on Facebook and get Ethiopian News updates regularly. As well, you may get Ethiopia News by following us on twitter @zborkena



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here