Friday, July 1, 2022
HomeEthiopian NewsEthiopian Parliament approved appointments of census commission members

Ethiopian Parliament approved appointments of census commission members

Ethiopian Parliament _Census
Ethiopian Parliament Building

November 27,2018

Ethiopian House of People’s Representatives approved today members of Census Commission. The members were proposed by the office of the prime minister and are mostly drawn from his cabinet members.

According to a report by Fana Broadcasting Corporation (FBC), members appointed to the commission are eleven.

The commission is composed of Muferiat Kamil (Minister for Peace), Ahmed Shide (Minister for Finance), Omar Hassen (Minister for Agriculture),Dagmawit Moges(Minister for Transport), Amin Aman (Minister for Health), Fitusm Assefa (Plan Commission Commissioner), Shimeles Abdissa (Chief of Staff in the office of the prime minister), Jantirar Abay(Minister for Urban Development and Construction), Yalem Tsegay (Minister for Women,Youth and Children), Temesgen Burka( Democratic Institution building coordinator) and keria Ibrahim (Speaker of House of Federation)

Some activists are calling for the upcoming census to be postponed again on grounds that it could aggravate instability in the country from the point of view of radicalizing ethno-nationalism which could bring about controversy, even conflict, over the outcome of the census.

It has been postponed twice in the past.

Join the conversation. Like borkena on Facebook and get Ethiopian News updates regularly. As well, you may get Ethiopia News by following us on twitter @zborkena



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here