Ethiopia included in the list of US Federal Aviation Administration Advisory Notice

Google map of Ethiopia
Google map of Ethiopia

(borkena) Nine pages of undated advisory notice from United States Federal Aviation Administration document included Ethiopia in the lists of countries restricted for flying.

The advisory is applicable to all commercial operators and U.S. Air carriers except “that person is engaged in the operation of a U.S.-registered aircraft for a foreign air carrier, and all operators using aircraft registered in the United States except where the operator of such aircraft is a foreign air carrier.”

Not all Ethiopian skies are covered with the advisory notice. It’s specifically applicable to Ethiopian Skies north of 12 degrees latitudes. That relates to parts of Gojjam, Wollo, Afar, Gondar, Tigray.

It is not clear as to what triggered the advisory notice.

Among other countries, Iraq, Iran, North Korea, Kenya, Congo,Russia, Sudan are included in the advisory notice.

To read the document in full on FAA, please click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.